Vault Shutdown or Restart

Previous Next  Print this Topic

Use the Shut Down Vault dialog box to shut down or restart a selected Vault. Shutting down a Vault must be performed before you can modify the Vault's host computer.

To shut down or restart a Vault:

1.From the Vault Admin left pane, select a Vault name.
2.From the toolbar, click the Shut Down Vault button.

Use to restart or shut down a Vault

3.From the Shut Down Vault dialog box, use the Shutdown Method drop-down list to select between three ways to shut down a Vault and one way to restart a Vault.

Normal - Normal shutdown is the standard way to shut down a Vault. A Normal shutdown stops current client activity after the running transaction completes all database transactions and performs any cleanup activity required, but it does not remove media from the drive. A Vault restarted after a normal shutdown should not report errors.

Extended - Extended shutdown is the best way to shut down a Vault if it is going to be taken offline for an extended period of time. Phoenix VCM waits until running client processes are finished before closing connections to clients, and then completes all database transactions, removes media from drives, and performs any required cleanup activity. An Extended shutdown is more time consuming than a Normal shutdown.

Restart - Restart executes a Normal shutdown and then restarts the selected Vault. Client activity stops after the running transaction completes all database transactions and performs any cleanup activity required, but does not remove media from the drive.

Emergency - Use only for emergencies. The emergency shutdown behaves as if removing power from the host computer. A Vault restarted after an emergency shutdown may report connection timeouts, incomplete database translations, and other items.

4.Click OK to complete the process.