Unload Media

Previous Next  Print this Topic

The Vault Admin cannot manipulate files (only Data Services can), but the Vault Admin keeps lists of files and media in each Vault, and knows whether or not the media is online, near-line, or offline. By using Unload Media you dictate if files and media are tracked or not tracked when unloading media. In most cases, media is removed when it is full.

Removing media from a Vault can be done in two ways:

Tracked and managed by the Information Repository - This is known as unloading to offline status. As long as media is tracked, video or data files remain in the Vault. Although offline, files and metadata are searchable.
Not tracked by the Information Repository - Files are removed from the Vault and are not searchable. If you do not track, you can always reload files and media at a later time.

The process of unloading media is identical for hard disk media and data tape media - with one exception. On data tape media you can either leave the media inside the storage library or remove it from the Information Repository entirely. Standalone data tape drive-based Vaults work the same as data tape library-based Vaults.

Unloading Media Types

The following subsections instruct you on how to unload a hard disk media and a data tape media.

Unload Hard Disk Media

1.From the Vault Admin left pane, click the expand indicator (plus sign) in front of the Vault to remove media from.
2.Click on the expand indicator for Media to have a tree of the media names displayed and also to have a list of the media names displayed in the right pane.
3.Select desired media (individual or multiple) then click on the Unload Media button in the toolbar. Or right-click on the selected media and choose Unload Media from the shortcut menu. The Unload Media window opens.

You can unload multiple hard disk media by holding the Shift key or Control key and clicking on the desired hard disk media in the right pane.

4.From the toolbar, click the Unload Media button. Or right click on the selected Media Name (or the multiple selected names) and choose Unload Media from the shortcut menu.

Remove Media and Elect to Track or Not Track Files

5.From the Media Tracking drop-down list, select an option:

Track media after unloading - The Vault's memory updates with this information. Should data on this unit of media be required for retrieval, a media request alert (including the Location where media will be stored) is displayed by the Information Repository, prompting an administrator to load the required media.

Do not track media any longer - The Location where media will be stored text box is disabled. When the media leaves the Information Repository, its entries are removed from the Vault's memory.

6.If you select Track media after unloading, type a descriptive note about where media is to be stored in the Location where media will be stored text box.
7.From the Media Updating drop-down list, select an option:

Update media if needed - The Vault updates the media memory - on the media being unloaded -if it is out of date.

Do not update media - The Vault does not update the media memory for the media being unloaded.

8.Click OK to complete the process. The media appears with a gold background in the Vault Admin main window.

Hard disk media is brought back online automatically when available and after 10 minutes has elapsed since it was taken offline.  The 10 minutes is to give a user time to unload the media and remove it, if that is what was intended.  In cases where the media was automatically taken offline due to technical difficulty (i.e., network outage of SAN or RAID failure), it will come back online automatically within 10 minutes after the technical difficulty has been resolved .

Unload Tape Media

1.From the Vault Admin left pane, click the expand indicator (plus sign) in front of the Vault to remove media from.
2.Click on Media to have a tree of the media names displayed and also to have a list of the media names displayed in the right pane.
3.Select desired media (individual or multiple) then click on the Unload Media button in the toolbar. Or right-click on the selected media and choose Unload Media from the shortcut menu. The Unload Media window opens.

You can unload multiple tape media by holding the Shift key or Control key and clicking on the desired tape media in the right pane.

4.From the toolbar, click the Unload Media button. Or right click on the selected Media Name (or the multiple selected names) and choose Unload Media from the shortcut menu.

5.From the Media Tracking drop-down list, select an option:

Track media after unloading - The Vault's memory updates with this information. Should data on this unit of media be required for retrieval, a media request alert (including the Location where media will be stored) is displayed by the Information Repository, prompting an administrator to load the required media.

Do not track media any longer - The Location where media will be stored text box is disabled. When the media leaves the Information Repository, its entries are removed from the Vault's memory.

6.If you select Track media after unloading, type a descriptive note about where media is to be stored in the Location where media will be stored text box.
7.From the Media Updating drop-down list, select an option:

Update media if needed - The Vault updates the media memory - on the media being unloaded -if it is out of date.

Do not update media - The Vault does not update the media memory for the media being unloaded.

8.From the Media Handling drop-down list, select an option:

Leave media in library - The tape will remain in the library after it has been unloaded.

Move media to mail slot - The tape will be moved to the library's mail slot after it has been unloaded.

When multiple tapes are selected to be unloaded, only the Leave media in library option is available.

8.Click OK to complete the process. The media appears with a gold background in the Vault Admin main window.