Target and Process User Preferences

Previous Next  Print this Topic

User Preferences define default settings for the Target and Process, and Target and Process Policies windows. The information in User Preferences is the exact same as what is displayed on the Processing tab. The User Preferences entered become the defaults whenever you select New Job (Target & Process) or Create a New Policy (Target & Process Policies), but once you set defaults, changes made on the Processing tab override settings in User Preferences, but only for the given job or policy.

See Target and Process Policies Processing Tab for more information on these elements.

Preferences are an excellent way to streamline projects, providing a convenient way to set commonly used options for your desktop client. Each subsequent time you run a job using your desktop client those settings are automatically set.

Access the User Preferences from the Target and Process or Target and Process Policies Tools menu, select User Preferences.

Target and Process - User Preferences

Target and Process, Target and Process Policies User Preference Elements

Video Processing Options

Select the Process Video Components checkbox to process video and for the associated options to enable. If not selected, video files ingest, but search applications cannot open and view them as video files and preview images are not generated.

Elements

Description

Generate low resolution proxy

Select to generate low resolution companion files.

From the Low resolution proxy quality drop-down list, select a resolution quality of High, Medium, or Low.

Select the Save copy of low resolution proxy checkbox to save an additional copy of the low resolution file, and then type a path in the Location text box, or click the Browse button to navigate to a save location.

Generate preview image

Select to generate a preview image.

From the Preview image quality drop-down list, select a image quality of High, Medium, or Low.

Select the Save copy of preview image checkbox to save an additional copy of the preview image, and then type a path in the Location text box, or click the Browse button to navigate to a save location.

Extract Closed Captioning

Select to extract closed captioning text (if it exists), and to search against its contents.

Select the Save a copy of Closed Captioning checkbox to save an additional copy of the closed captioning text, and then type a path in the Location text box, or click the Browse button to navigate to a save location. The generated file will be name <filename>_cc.srt, where <filename> is the name of the video it corresponds to.

Closed captioning text may be extracted from mpeg-2 video files if it exists in the picture user data as defined in the EIA-708 standard.

Alternatively, you can ingest a closed caption file,  when ingesting the video file, instead of having it generated. The ingested file must have the name <filename>_cc.srt, where <filename> is the name of the video it corresponds to. Target and Process will not generate a closed caption file if you supply your own.

Picture Processing Options

Select the Process Picture Components checkbox to process picture files and for the associated options to enable. If not selected, picture files are ingested but the preview images are not generated and viewable in Phoenix VCM search applications.

Phoenix VCM is unable to generate preview images for picture files with file names that contain `, ", $, or \.

Elements

Description

Generate preview image

Select to generate preview images.

From the Preview image quality drop-down list, select a image quality of High, Medium, or Low.

Select the Save copy of preview image checkbox to save an additional copy of the preview image, and then type a path in the Location text box, or click the Browse button to navigate to a save location.

File Processing Options

Use to set User Preferences for permissions, file processing, and metadata processing.

Elements

Description

Override original file permissions to allow any user to retrieve

Phoenix VCM adheres to the level of rights and access control that is set for the operating system where files are  ingested from. Typically, only the owner, author of the files or a system administrator with administrative or root level access privileges is able to view, open, and retrieve files in the Information Repository.

Select to allow access on stored files so any user can retrieve files.

This feature negates all protection associated with your files; anyone on your network using Phoenix VCM can access your stored files.

Access Permissions

This field is only enabled if the Override original file permissions to allow any user to retrieve checkbox is checked. When the checkbox is unchecked, the added permissions are not used.

Ability to add, change, or delete rights to view the file and edit Metadata in the Information Repository. Access permissions determine who has access to the Information Repository and the access level.

Double-click an existing security entry to change an entry, click the Add button to insert a new entry, click the Delete button to remove an entry, or click the Up or Down arrow buttons to change the order the entries are listed in the Access Permissions group box.

When adding a new entry, if the Entry Name text box is left blank, the new entry will not be saved after clicking OK.

Extended Metadata Processing

Ingest.ExtMetadata and <filename>.md files have diverse purposes, select from options:

None - No extended metadata processing.

Use Ingest.ExtMetadata - Affects files in its own folder and child folders. If a child folder has its own Ingest.ExtMetadata, files in that folder and its child folders use it instead of a Ingest.ExtMetadata in a parent folder.

Use '.md' file - Adds metadata only to files that have an identical filename and reside in the same folder.

Use script - Adds metadata based on a user-provided script file located in the Config folder in the Phoenix installation directory.

Low Resolution Engine

Choose which engine to use to generate low resolution proxies when ingesting files.

Select from options:

ffmbc first, then QuickTime

QuickTime only

ffmbc only

ffmpeg only

default - This will be your system default.

Create job history for use with retrieve

Job history logs contain information about the files included in jobs, and they are used for retrieving files. To create a job history log when a job runs, select the Create job history for use with retrieve checkbox. The Job History Pathname text box is then enabled.

Job History Pathname

A text box that contains the path where Phoenix VCM writes the job history and the job run record to use with Search and Retrieve.

Leave the default location (see below for a list of field name variables used) or type an alternate location. Or, click the Browse button to navigate to a different folder or create a new folder.

This text box is only enabled when the Create job history for use with retrieve checkbox is checked.