Search and Retrieve Window

Previous Next  Print this Topic

The Search and Retrieve window is divided into two main panes. The left pane is the area to define search types and options for files. The right pane displays the retrieval options and search results.

Search and Retrieve - main window

Search and Retrieve Menu Items

Menu Items

Description

File > Start

Launch to retrieve and restore selected files. If no files are selected, a notification dialog box appears to warn you.

File > Test Run

Perform a "pre-flight" retrieval of the selected items and show media information (media name and current online/offline status) for all of the needed media. A test run will show basic retrieval information that can be reviewed before a retrieval process is started.

File > Save Search Results As

From the Save Search Results Window,

Save results from - Choose to save only selected files or all files.

Saved file format - Select Simple text, Tab delimited fields,  or XML.

The Select fields to save section is only available when Tab delimited fields is selected as the file format.

Save as - Click the Browse button to choose a location.

Save your selections.

File > Exit

Close the application. If changes have been made, a Confirmation dialog box appears for saving changes. Click Yes, No, or Cancel.

Edit > Clear File Selections

Select to remove any marked files for selection.

View > Mode

The display mode for the Search and Retrieve window. Select either List mode or Tree mode. See Export Files.

List mode - View files as a list.

Tree mode - View files in a tree structure. Retrieve option tabs also appear in the right pane of the Search and Retrieve window.

View > Enable Tool Tips

Check mark by this menu item indicates that tool tips for the window display. The tips are brief descriptions of window controls if the mouse pointer is moved over a control. De-select to turn tool tips off.

View > Enable File Tips

Check mark by this menu item indicates that file tips for the window display. A file tip is a file's name, and it appears if the mouse pointer is moved over a file name that is not fully visible while using Tree mode. Not applicable for List mode. De-select to turn file tips off.

Advanced > Transmission Optimization

Enable the client to constantly monitor its processes and select the network transmission protocol that best suits the files being processed. To get up to a 20% increase in performance, leave the option selected. However, depending on your particular network configuration, you may find that you can get better performance by de-selecting this option. If your Information Repository seems to be slower than you would expect, run a few timed tests to see which setting works best.

Select option Enabled to turn this feature on, or Disabled to turn it off.

Advanced > Retrieval Priority

Determine how many files are processed in a single session.

Select between:

Low - Hold the connection for 30 seconds.

Medium - Hold the connection for 5 minutes.

High - Hold the connection for 10 minutes.

With the connection held, Search and Retrieve brings back as many files as it can in the amount of time selected. No other processes can access the Vault's drive during the connection.

Advanced > Rimage Export Configuration

Export files in Rimage format to a Rimage device. Rimage writes the files out to disc. For more information see Rimage Export Configuration.

Advanced > Manually Group Files

When Phoenix VCM ingests files, it automatically groups them, assigning each file a group number. When enabled, you can create new groupings by assigning a new group number to files already in the Information Repository and found using Search and Retrieve.

To enable this feature, the appropriate registry settings must be enabled.
This feature works only with Information Repository searches and when files are selected.

This is a powerful feature for advanced users. If you use this feature, you cannot undo the new groupings unless you use this feature again.

1.Search the Information Repository for the files to group or regroup.
2.Select the files to group.
3.Select Advanced menu > Manually Group Files.
4.To group the selected files, click Yes. Otherwise, click No to cancel.

Advanced > Automatically Group Files

When Phoenix VCM ingests files, it automatically groups them, assigning each file a group number. When enabled, you can "smartly" regroup files into multiple groups based on naming and other metadata information.

To enable this feature, the appropriate registry settings must be enabled.
This feature works only with Information Repository searches and when files are selected.

This is a powerful feature for advanced users. If you use this feature, you cannot undo the new groupings unless you use this feature again.

1.Search the Information Repository for the files to group or regroup.
2.Select the files to group.
3.Select Advanced menu > Automatically Group Files.
4.To group the selected files, click Yes. Otherwise, click No to cancel.

Advanced > Edit Metadata

Open the Edit Metadata window to add and edit metadata for files that have already been ingested.

This option is active only when the appropriate metadata extensions block is implemented. See Metadata Extensions Block Structure.
To enable this feature, the appropriate registry settings must be enabled.
This feature works only with Information Repository searches and when files are selected.

This is a powerful feature for advanced users. Once you edit metadata, you cannot undo your changes unless you use this feature again.

1.Search the Information Repository for the files that have metadata you want to change.
2.Select Advanced menu > Edit Metadata.
3.The Edit Metadata window opens. The fields in the window are defined by metadata extensions.
4.Change the values as needed and then click OK.

Advanced > Set Protection

Open the Set File Protection window to add, delete, and manage Rights for files that have already been ingested.

To enable this feature, the appropriate registry settings must be enabled.
This feature works only with Information Repository searches and when files are selected.

This is a powerful feature for advanced users. Once you set protection, you cannot undo the changes unless you use this feature again.

1.Search the Information Repository for the files that have Rights you want to change.
2.Select Advanced menu > Set Protection.
3.The Set File Protection window opens.
4.Change the Rights as need and then click OK.

Advanced > Purge Files

Permanently delete all instances of the selected files from the entire Information Repository.

To enable this feature, the appropriate registry settings must be enabled.
This feature works only with Information Repository searches and when files are selected.

This is a powerful feature for advanced users. Once you purge files, it is permanent and cannot be undone.

1.Search the Information Repository for the files that you want to purge.
2.Select Advanced menu > Purge Files.
3.The Confirm Purge Files window opens.
4.To purge all selected files and any copies across the entire Information Repository, click Yes. Otherwise, click No to cancel.

Advanced > Search for Deleted Files

Check mark by this menu item indicates that deleted files will be included in the search results. These are files that are marked for deletion.

Help > Current Page

Open online help to the Search and Retrieve webpage.

Help > Search and Retrieve Overview

Open online help with focus on Search and Retrieve.

Help > Contents

Open the local version of online help.

Help > Online Help

Open the web-based version of online help.

Help > Online Support

Open the support webpage.

Help > About Search and Retrieve

Open the About Search and Retrieve window.