Data Service Policies

Previous Next  Print this Topic

Use Data Service Policies to create parameters for complete data lifecycle management in the Information Repository. The service provides an easy way to move, copy, and delete data while preserving data quality and making sure it is maintained on media within a storage hierarchy that continually meets performance and storage longevity requirements of each different type of data within an enterprise.

Once data is in the Information Repository, use Data Service Policies to control which files are affected during a job to migrate, replicate, or purge. The policies also control when a job starts, where files are stored, how often a job runs, when it stops, and all other aspects of the job. Initial and subsequent storage devices do not have to be of the same technology, so configurations can be built to include anything, for example, disk to tape (D2T), or disk to disk to tape (D2D2T). Other Phoenix VCM policies run on the computer where they are created, but the Data Service Policies created affects the entire Information Repository. All Data Service Policies display and can be edited in any instance of the Data Service Policy application.

Data Service Policies take on many different forms, being broad or narrow. A single Vault can contain any number of policies that can span through multiple sites.

The following three actions are all it takes for effective data management across multiple tiers of storage. Each policy created will have one of these actions assigned to it. No two policies can have the same name.

Migrate - Move files or video from one Vault to another Vault. Use migrate to move data into another Vault that may have more space available, or have better performance, or move unnecessary and older data offline completely.
Replicate - Copy multiple instances of stored files that can be accessed for retrieval. Use replicate to copy data into a storage device or to share the data with another network.
Purge - Remove data that is no longer needed, or use as a way to keep Vaults uncluttered and clear. The policy manages the scheduled purge.

The Data Services Policies window displays all of the Data Service Policies implemented across the Information Repository on the network. Consequently, if two or more users attempt to modify a policy simultaneously, a conflict occurs and only the changes by one are saved.

Create a Policy

The first thing to do before working with Data Services is to create a policy. A policy has options to set for your data management needs and the policy you create determines how the Data Services Service component of Phoenix VCM manages data across your system.

1.From your suite of product applications, open the Data Service Policies application (DataSvcPolicies.exe).
2.From the Data Service Policies window, click the plus symbol to create a new policy.

Use to create or modify a data service policy

3.Type a Policy Name for the new policy.
4.Type a Description of the new policy for quick reference.
5.Select a Policy Type.
6.Select the policy as active, or de-select the Active checkbox if you do not want the policy to run. When the Active checkbox is de-selected, the triangular caution symbol is superimposed over the policy in the Data Service Policy window Policy Name pane.
7.Click OK. The window closes, and the policy name, description, and host appear in the Policy Name pane.
8.(Optional) Modify the parameters as needed on each Data Service Policy window tab for the policy. See the subsequent sections for details.
9.From the Data Service Policy window, click Save to keep all policy settings and implement the policy.

Modify a Policy

Use to change a policy's name, description, and type of policy, as determined when creating a policy. Make one modification or change all controls.

1.Double-click the policy name in the Data Service Policy window Policy Name pane.
2.(Optional) Type a new name in the Policy Name text box.
3.(Optional) Type a modified description in the Description text box.
4.(Optional) Select a Policy Type:
5.(Optional) Select the policy as active, or de-select the Active checkbox if you do not want the policy to run.
6.Click OK to accept modifications, and the window closes.
7.(Optional) Modify the parameters as needed on each Data Service Policy window tab for the policy. See the subsequent sections for details.
8.From the Data Service Policy window, click the save icon to keep all policy settings and implement the policy.

To modify a policy's parameters see the corresponding Data Service Policy window tab.

Create a Policy and Modify a Policy Elements

Elements

Description

Policy Name

The name typed here becomes the name of the new Data Service Policy.

Description

Text box to type a short description about the policy. The description should tell you something about the policy so you know what it does without having to open it.

Policy Type

Select between Migrate, Replicate, and Purge.

Migrate - Set the policy up to move files from one location to another - one Vault to another Vault. Once the data is safely moved, the original stored copy is deleted immediately.

When migrating from data tape media, files are marked as deleted, but are not actually deleted until the media is reused and files are overwritten. This enables migration jobs to finish in a timely manner.

Replicate - Set the policy up to copy files from one location to another - one Vault to another Vault. Retains the original stored copy.

Purge - Set policy to permanently delete files from a Vault within the Information Repository.

Data Tape - When you select Purge for files on data tape media, a flag is logged in the database log index indicating deleted files. However, the files are not actually removed from the data tape until you run Erase Selected Media where media is reused and files are overwritten.

Hard Disk - Files on hard disk media are purged immediately.

Active

Select to make the policy active, and de-select to make the policy not active. If not active, a triangular caution symbol appears over the policy in the Data Service Policies window Policy Name pane alerting you to this condition.

Delete a Policy

You can delete a policy that no longer meets your needs, or you can de-activate a policy and then re-activate it at a later time if needed.

To delete a policy:

1.From the Data Service Policies window Policy Name pane, click the policy to delete.
2.Click the Delete button .
3.After deletion of a policy, the Data Services Service has been modified. Click the Save button to save the updated Data Service Policies settings.

If you delete a policy while a job is running, the job stops as soon as it is finished processing the current file.

To make an active policy inactive:

1. From the Data Service Policy window Policy Name pane, double-click the policy.
2. In the Modify Selected Policy window, de-select the Active checkbox.