Recording Policy Management

Previous Next  Print this Topic

The following section outlines how to create, modify, and delete recording policies within the Camera Policies application.

Create a Policy

The most convenient way to set up a camera, a schedule, and then record video is to use the Add Camera Wizard. However, there are times when using the wizard is not applicable, for example, if your camera information is not included in the manufacturer or model list. If using the wizard is not applicable, you must create a recording policy manually.

1.Open the Camera Policies application.
2.From the Camera Policies application toolbar, click the Add button to create a new policy. Or from the Edit menu, select Create a Policy.

Create a Policy for Camera Configuration

3.In the Create a Policy window, type a Policy Name for the new policy.
4.Type a Description for the new policy for quick reference.
5.The Source is always Surveillance Camera.
6.Select the policy as active, or de-select the Active checkbox if you do not want the policy to run. When the Active checkbox is de-selected, the triangular caution symbol is superimposed over the policy in the  Camera Policies window left pane - Recording Policy Name column.
7.Click OK. The window closes, and the Recording Policy Name, Camera, Recording Computer, and Description appear in the Camera Policies.
8.On the Camera tab, from the Camera drop-down list, select the camera configuration that the policy applies to.
9.(Advanced mode only) On the Processing tab, define video and file processing options.
10. (Advanced mode only) On the Destination tab, define the Vault, media, storage pool, and other options where video is recorded or captured to.
11. On the Scheduling tab, select when to record video.
12. (Advanced mode only) On the Advanced tab, select log and report, or performance options.
13. Click the Save button to save all policy settings and implement the policy.

Open Network Activity to monitor processing as policies are created.

Modify a Policy

1.From the Camera Policies left pane, double click an existing policy name. Or, from the Edit menu, select Modify Selected Policy. The Modify Selected Policy window opens for the selected policy.

Modify a Policy for Camera Configurations

2.Type a new policy name or a new description.
3.Select the policy as active, or de-select the Active checkbox if you do not want the policy to run. When the Active checkbox is de-selected, the triangular caution symbol is superimposed over the policy in the Camera Policies window left pane - Recording Policy Name column.
4.Click OK. The window closes, and the Recording Policy Name, Camera, Recording Computer, and Description appear in the Camera Policies.
5.Modify policy parameters as needed for each Camera Policies tab.
6.Click the Save button to save all policy settings and implement the policy.

If another user on the network makes changes to a policy while you have the Camera Policies application open, there will be a popup message asking if you would like to refresh your view in order to see the most recent changes. Clicking Yes to refresh your view will cause you to lose any of your unsaved work or changes. Click No to continue modifying a policy without refreshing your view. This may cause you to accidentally overwrite the changes the other user made.

If you modify a recording policy while a job is running that is based on that policy, the job stops as soon as it is finished processing the current file. The job restarts as scheduled. For example, a job runs every day at 11:00 AM for 30 minutes. While the job is running, the policy is modified and the job stops. If the scheduled start time was not changed, the job starts at 11:00 AM the next day.

Delete a Policy

You can delete a policy that no longer meets your needs, or you can de-activate a policy and then re-activate it at a later time if needed.

Delete a policy:

1.From the Camera Policies window left pane - Recording Policy Name column, click the policy to delete.
2.Click the Delete button .
3.After deletion of a policy, Camera Policies has been modified. Click the Save button to save the updated Camera Policy settings.

If you delete a policy while a job is running, the job stops as soon as it is finished processing the current file.

Make an active policy inactive:

1. From the Camera Policies window left pane - Recording Policy Name column, double-click the policy.
2. In the Modify Selected Policy window, de-select the Active checkbox.